Main / About us / Our history

Our history

UWCA’s history goes back to 1939, to aircraft repair shops responsible for maintenance of aircraft operating along Moscow – Irkutsk, Sverdlovsk – Moscow and Moscow – Magnitogorsk routes. On March 16, 1939 the shops were awarded a status of independent enterprise of the civil fleet of the USSR.


That date is recognized as the birthday of plant No. 404, presently known as the Ural Works of Civil Aviation.

1941—1945.

WARTIME OPERATIONS

The first repair and overhaul works were performed on U-2 and Po-2 aircraft as well as on M-11, M-17, MG-31 engines; during the years of war the plant expanded horizons of its capabilities. To meet the needs of our country the plant refocused on assembling of SB bombers and I-15/I-16 fighter aircraft, on replacement of engines on LI-2 aircraft and on repairs/overhaul of the most strongly sought-after engine — ASH-62 IR.


According to the wartime statistics, the output per shift averaged 135 parts for Katyusha rocket launchers.


Over 1941—1945 the plant workers put a record-high number of aircraft and engines into operation — 560 airplanes and 1,500 engines.



1945—1960.

URAL INNOVATORS

The war was over, and the plant entrusted with a new task of national significance — starting repairs and overhaul of ASH-82FN engines used on IL-12 civil aircraft. 


To reach the required output of 8 thousand items the plant employees designed a new method — flowline repair and overhaul, which had never been used in the civil aviation before. Later on, the innovative method was successfully implemented at other plants and factories. 


In 1956, after the required alterations had been made and equipment had been installed, the plant embarked on repairs and overhaul of ASH-82T piston engines for IL-14 aircraft.


1960-e.

AEROFLOT’S PRIDE

The 1960s ushered in a period of fast-growing helicopter aviation and, subsequently, the increasing demand for overhaul of AS-82V engines and R-5 main gearboxes for Mi-4 helicopters.


The responsibility for fulfilling the task was taken by employees of the Ural plant, who had restored 15 thousand engines and 8 thousand gearboxes by 1987 and had satisfied the demand of the Soviet Aeroflot in full.


1970-е.

PROLIFIC DECADE

Another successful milestone was passed when in 1973 the Ural Works of Civil Aviation (formerly plant No. 404) started repair and overhaul operations on TV2-117A gas-turbine engines.


Shortly after, the monthly output went up from 5 engines to 180 engines! In 1975, the plant started overhaul operations on VR-8A main gearboxes for Mi-8 helicopters.   


The logical end result of the decade was the awarded patent for unique designer technology — one-step assembly and combined acceptance-and-control tests of the TV2-117A engine and VR-8A gearbox.

1980-e.

BADGE OF HONOR

In 1981, the plant was awarded an Order of the Badge of Honor by the Decree of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR. 


The crowning achievements during the 1980s: Launching the structural analysis laboratory to monitor the turbine blade structure in terms of overheating by using electronic microscopes; completion of the construction of the MIS-2 engine-testing facility; the first bench start-up of the NK-8-2 engine.


1990-е.
AGAINST THE CRISIS

During the crisis years, UWCA did not curtail the production. Moreover, it started overhaul operations for later TV3-117 helicopter engines and their modifications; it was the first in Russia to launch overhaul operations on GTD-350 engines for Mi-2 helicopters. 


In 1999, UWCA’s excellent technical and research capabilities made it possible to start manufacturing EU-1500/3000 mobile power generation units, which could be used in all climatic zones at the height reaching one thousand meters above sea level. To meet the needs of gas pumping stations UWCA started repair and overhaul operations on NK16-ST motors. 


The market reforms called for a broader product range, and one of the new focus areas was manufacturing of MAI-223 two-seater aircraft.

2000s. 
STEPPING CONFIDENTLY INTO THE PRESENT DAY

In 2003, UWCA offered repairs and overhaul for AI-9V engines; at the end of 2004 — repairs and overhaul for VR-24 gearboxes. In 2007, the first NK12-ST engine was disassembled to be tested only 9 month later. The turnaround time was shortened due to the considerable changes, first of all, due to the upgrading of the entire plant. 


In 2013, UWCA started manufacturing Diamond light aircraft. In 2015, the Ural Works of Civil Aviation became an authorized representative of Textron Aviation in the Russian Federation and assembled Russia’s first Bell-407 light utility helicopter manufactured by Bell Helicopter Textron (USA). 


In 2016, UWCA embarked on construction of a new assembly shop for L-410 universal two-engine aircraft for local airlines. 


Today, the Ural Works of Civil Aviation of one of the few companies specializing in repairs and overhaul of aircraft engines, gearboxes and accessories. UWCA is steadily growing and the range of its operations. Over 70 years of changes, reforms, challenges and accomplishments UWCA has remained loyal to its principle: Safety in the sky begins with quality on the ground.

Главная / О заводе / История завода

История завода

История завода берет свое начало в далеком 1939 году. Все началось с линейных авиаремонтных мастерских (САРМ ГВФ), которые выполняли техническое обслуживание самолетов, движущихся по воздушным магистралям Москва — Иркутск, Свердловск — Москва и Москва — Магнитогорск. 16 марта 1939 года мастерским присвоен статус самостоятельного предприятия гражданского флота СССР.

 

Эта дата и стала днем рождения завода № 404 ныне известного нам как Уральский завод гражданской авиации.

1941—1945.
ПО ЗАКОНАМ ВОЕННОГО ВРЕМЕНИ

Деятельность завода началась с ремонта самолетов У-2, По-2 и авиадвигателей М-11, М-17, МГ-31, в военные годы предприятие значительно расширило горизонты своих возможностей. Для нужд Родины заводчане освоили и стали производить сборку бомбардировщиков СБ и боевых самолетов И-15, И-16, осуществлять замену двигателей на самолетах ЛИ-2 и ремонт наиболее востребованного в то время двигателя — АШ-62 ИР.

 

Согласно статистике военных лет, за смену на предприятии выпускалось до 135 деталей для ракетной установки «Катюша».

 

Всего за 1941—1945 годы заводчане вернули в строй рекордное количество техники — 560 самолетов и 1500 двигателей.

1945—1960.
УРАЛЬСКИЕ НОВАТОРЫ

После войны перед заводом встала новая государственная задача — освоение для ГВФ ремонта двигателей АШ-82ФН, эксплуатировавшихся на самолетах ГВФ-ИЛ-12. 


Для выполнения требуемого объема — 8 тысяч единиц — коллектив предприятия разработал новую технологию — поточную линию ремонта, уникальную в отрасли гражданской авиации. Опыт уральских новаторов впоследствии был внедрен и на других предприятиях. 


В 1956 году после переустройства и технического оснащения цехов предприятие освоило ремонт поршневых двигателей АШ-82Т для самолетов ИЛ-14.

1960-e.
ГОРДОСТЬ АЭРОФЛОТА

В 60-е годы наряду с развитием вертолетной авиации возникла потребность в капитальном ремонте двигателей АШ-82В и главного редуктора Р-5 вертолетов Ми-4.


До 1987 года эта задача выполнялась работниками уральского завода, которые восстановили в этот период 15 тысяч двигателей и 8 тысяч редукторов, тем самым полностью обеспечив потребности Аэрофлота СССР.

1970-е.
ПРОДУКТИВНОЕ ДЕСЯТИЛЕТИЕ

Очередную планку на пути своих достижений Уральский завод гражданской авиации (тогда еще № 404) преодолел, освоив в 1973 году ремонт газотурбинного двигателя ТВ2-117А.

Вскоре объемы производства возросли с 5-ти двигателей в месяц до 180-ти! В 1975 году заводчане освоили ремонт главного редуктора ВР-8А вертолета Ми-8.   


Логическим завершением десятилетия стал патент на уникальную авторскую технологию работников завода — одноразовую сборку и совмещенное сдаточно-контрольное испытание двигателя ТВ2-117А и редуктора ВР-8А.

1980-e.
В «ЗНАК ПОЧЕТА»

В 1981 году завод удостоен ордена «Знак Почета» Указом Президиума Верховного Совета СССР. 


Главные достижения 80-х — открытие лаборатории структурного анализа для проведения контроля структуры лопаток турбины на перегрев с использованием электронных микроскопов; завершение строительства мотороиспытательной станции МИС-2 и первый запуск двигателя НК-8-2 на стенде.

1990-е.
НАПЕРЕКОР КРИЗИСУ

В переломные для страны годы УЗГА не только не сбавил обороты производства, но и приступил к капремонту более современных вертолетных двигателей ТВ3-117 и его модификации, и первым в России овладел технологией ремонта двигателя ГТД-350 для вертолетов Ми-2. 


В 1999 году благодаря высокому техническому и научному потенциалу завод освоил производство мобильных энергетических установок ЭУ-1500/3000 для применения во всех климатических зонах земного шара на высотах до тысячи метров над уровнем моря. Для удовлетворения потребностей магистральных станций по перекачке газа в том же году начат ремонт двигателей НК16-СТ. 

На волне рыночных преобразований возникла необходимость расширения ассортимента заводской продукции, и одним из новых направлений стал выпуск двухместного самолета МАИ-223.

2000-е. 
Легкой поступью в настоящее

В 2003 году на предприятии освоен ремонт двигателей АИ-9В, а в конце 2004-го — ремонт редуктора ВР-24. В 2007 году разобран первый двигатель НК12-СТ, который прошел испытания спустя всего 9 месяцев благодаря колоссальным переменам на производстве, основа которых — мощная модернизация завода.

 

В 2013-м создано новое направление — производство легких самолетов Diamond. В 2015 году Уральский завод гражданской авиации стал официальным представителем компании Textron Aviation на территории Российский Федерации и выпустил первый в России легкий пассажирский вертолет Bell-407 американского производителя Bell Helicopter Textron.

 

2016 год ознаменовался началом строительства цеха по сборке универсального двухмоторного самолета для местных воздушных линий L-410.

 

Сегодня Уральский завод гражданской авиации — одно из немногих предприятий отрасли, специализирующихся на ремонте авиационных двигателей, редукторов и агрегатов. Вместе с тем УЗГА планомерно развивается и непрерывно расширяет спектр своей деятельности. Более 70 лет сменялись эпохи, преодолевались новые рубежи, наступали значительные перемены. Но всегда неизменным оставался девиз предприятия: «Качество на земле — надежность в небе».